The tale of a country, of mountains and adventure.

Okey, so I don’t even know where to start; you guys already saw the movie that I made from Bhutan, you know the drill. It’s beautiful, it’s breath taking and impossible to summarize up in a short film clip or a long blogpost. But you know what? I will do my very best for all of you, to tell you parts of my trip over there. Kingdom of Bhutan
We visited several cities across Bhutan- all of them were as unbelievably different from home and mesmerizing in it’s own way.
Kingdom of BhutanKingdom of Bhutan I’m not sure of how many hours we spent on the road, since we we’re traveling around in the country, and the fact that the roads goes around and around the mountains so the roads won’t be way to step, made it take so much more time. I didn’t mind though.

Our school had rented 4 mini busses for all of us, and we had guides inside and played music during the time.
Kingdom of Bhutan
Looking at the map, trying to figure out where we were.
Kingdom of Bhutan
Kingdom of Bhutan
Kingdom of Bhutan
Kingdom of Bhutan
We went to a local market, which was very interesting. Some friends and I bought fruit and I got ripped off. They were also selling dried, fried, fish – which none of us were brave enough to try.
Kingdom of Bhutan
Kingdom of Bhutan
The people are pretty fond of their spicy food, so you could pretty much get chilli everywhere- and if not, you would see it hanging and drying on windows in the city or in far remote places in the country side.
Kingdom of Bhutan
Kingdom of Bhutan
Thimpu, the capital, had a amazingly large Buddha statue guarding the city, and a even better view of the city.
Kingdom of Bhutan
Kingdom of Bhutan
Kingdom of Bhutan
The architecture on every building was so pretty and old, worn out and simply eye catching. And the temples that we visited all had even more interesting painting on. Kingdom of Bhutan
And if you watched my video, you probably noticed that we visited a few temples and saw a lot of monks. It’s so interesting to think about their way of living. The small doors on the right side of this monk is where they were living in his temple.
Kingdom of Bhutan
Kingdom of Bhutan
These are two of my favourites photos from the trip. A truck on road, and a lonely bhutanese walking in the country.

Kingdom of Bhutan
Bhutan really is the land of the mountains. They have about 360 mountains, and the light that they created every day before going down wasn’t like any other.

Kingdom of Bhutan
Kingdom of Bhutan
Let’s just say we saw a lot of cows.
Kingdom of BhutanThe higher up we went on the mountains, the colder it got. Kingdom of BhutanPrayer flags. Kingdom of Bhutan
Kingdom of BhutanTiger’s nest – one of the most remote and oldest temples in Bhutan. I’m pretty sure it was a 2 hour long hike to get there- uphill. Kingdom of BhutanKingdom of Bhutan
 I’m going to end my blogpost here, with two of my favourite photos. A photo of a house in front of a water puddle (which reminds me a lot of the country side in Estonia) and a monk burning wood (related to a holiday).

This blogpost could go on for forever. Because I got so much of incredible footage from this trip – I uploaded about 90 photos on Flickr, which you all can se here.

There’s something very special with this country and it’s people, and the fact that there hardly are any tourist to be seen around – at least not at this time of the year-. And the moment I landed, I smiled, because I knew I would like this place, fall in love with it, and dream of coming back once again.

I hope if anyone of you ever get to opportunity to visit, that you take it and never regret it.
Kingdom of Bhutan
A last photo from Bhutan, near the airport of Thimpu. 

Leave a Reply

